Match Report- AFC Bridgnorth 0-3 Haughmond FC

24 April 2021 @chaguejones

AFC Bridgnorth’s Shropshire Premier County cup journey came to an end after falling at the hands of Haughmond.

A well contested start at the Crown Meadow with AFC Bridgnorth creating the first half chance which fell to Elliott Lee at a tight angle who slashed his shot into the grasp of Sam Jones in the Haughmond goal.

After endless spells of pressure from the hosts, it was Haughmond who took the lead when a corner was lifted into the front post and harshly took a deflection off George Marsh and beat all of the defence and landed into the far corner.

Haughmond doubled their lead through Louis Irvine who was put through and his shot just about had enough to beat the oncoming Crook.

Bridgnorth were desperately trying to prevent going into the break two goals down, by doing so they allowed Scott Ryan in who forced Crook to make another special stop to deny the visitor’s a third goal.

Haughmond managed to take their two goal advantage into the half time break and did well to soak up the Bridgnorth pressure and hit twice against the run of play. Bridgnorth started in excellent fashion but by committing men forward allowed the visitor’s to exploit gaps at the back and grab two goals.

Another fast start from the Meadowmen who showed their intentions of getting back into this tie from the off. Marsh found a pocket of space and played in Will Reid whose clever footwork found Lee but he was rushed well from Jones in the Haughmond goal and his effort looped over.

Haughmond again caught out the hosts on the break and Ryan would have thought he scored when he was found in the area, his vicious volley was matched by the superb work of Crook in the Bridgnorth goal to prevent the visitors from grabbing a third.

The game began to peter out and Bridgnorth really have themselves to blame as they have been the more assured side throughout the game but the decision making in the final third has not been clinical enough.


AFC Bridgnorth: 1. Chris Crook, 2. Matt Dean, 3. George Marsh, 4. Jason Pike, 5. Scott Becker, 6. Liam Robinson, 7. Elliott Lee, 8. Karl Griffiths, 9. Nathan Derrick (56’ Garrington), 10. Gabbi Danko, 11. Will Reid.

Subs: 12. Josh Garrington, 14. Ryan Mountford, 15. Calum Hill, 17. Chris Field.

Haughmond FC: 1. Sam Jones, 2. George Carpenter, 3. Matt Fletcher, 4. Jack Griffiths, 5. Arryn Simms, 6. Carl Rogers, 7. Owen Sadd, 8. Olly Barratt, 9. Steve Hole, 10. Louis Irvine, 11. Scott Ryan.

Subs: 12. Ryan Knott, 14. Joe Parry, 15. Callum Graybrook, 16. Jordy Kennedy, 17. Josh Hyde.